brand: SWYT culture

swyt6

I heard about SWYT Culture through the flash sale website, Fab. Since I’m on my feet for 8 hours a day, I am on the lookout for a pair (or two) of shoes that have padding and arch support, but are still somewhat attractive. I can’t give up my need to look put together even though there’s no dress code to speak of, and athletic tennis shoes tend to ruin a good outfit.

I emailed the company to ask about their labor standards and haven’t yet received a reply. But, as it turns out, someone asked the same question on their facebook page, so I got my answer. According to (presumably) the owner of the company, the SWYT Culture factory is well regulated, with employees receiving housing and two extended lunch breaks throughout the course of the work day, which ends at 5:30.

swyt culture ballet flats

It’s difficult to assess the standards of companies that operate in the middle of atrocious and fair trade certified, but I’m inclined to give SWYT Culture the benefit of the doubt. Since I started working on a production floor, I’ve realized that many of my ideas regarding factory life were skewed toward my distaste for the kind of work involved. Production is not always the most stimulating job, but if the conditions are good and the facilities are well maintained, it can be stable and satisfying (of course, that doesn’t legitimize inhumane treatment or consistent, forced overtime).

I haven’t tried out a pair of SWYT Culture shoes yet, but the memory foam insole, rubber soles, and arch support (and reasonably attractive styles) sound pretty appealing to my aching feet. Let me know if you’ve tried them.

image sources: gray flats, striped flats, photo
About Leah

I have a vintage clothing company called Platinum & Rust (.com). I'm also passionate about fair trade and sustainability issues; I work at a fair trade, organic coffee shop and blog about sustainable fashion at StyleWiseGuide.com.
This entry was posted in Brands and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to brand: SWYT culture

  1. tiffany267 says:

    Nice post and cute shoes 🙂

Leave a Reply

