conscientious copycat: a little bit ’80s

Jazmine is a UK-based fashion blogger with a classic sense of style. I love the simplicity of this casual outfit comprised of effortless wardrobe basics with contemporary updates.

jazzabelle's diary asos high waist

Jazmine wears a lot of Asos, which I (hesitantly) consider ethical. But I thought I’d find similar pieces from other retailers instead.
ethical styleboardThis look features an American Apparel crop top (they have a massive collection of crop tops to choose from), BDG jeans I found on ebay, a Madewell bag, J. Crew belt, and vintage boots via A Tiny Kingdom on etsy.

About Leah

I have a vintage clothing company called Platinum & Rust (.com). I'm also passionate about fair trade and sustainability issues; I work at a fair trade, organic coffee shop and blog about sustainable fashion at StyleWiseGuide.com.
This entry was posted in Styleboards, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to conscientious copycat: a little bit ’80s

  1. Sarah says:

    Thanks for including my shop, I appreciate it! Love your blog!
    – Sarah, etsy.com/shop/atinykingdom

  2. amanda dawn says:

    do you know if BDG produces their clothing ethically? i’ve tried to do some research online, but haven’t been able to really find anything. Thanks!

    • leahwise says:

      I highly doubt that BDG or any of the Urban Outfitters brands outside of the ones specifically labeled “Made in the USA” are produced with any clear standards in place. I found the ones I listed in this post second hand on ebay, which at least distances me one step from the source.

      Keep in mind that UO’s parent company owns Anthropologie and Free People; both have very low ethics ratings on Good Guide: http://www.goodguide.com/products/340646-free-people

      – Leah

Leave a Reply

