saving

savingThroughout my secondhand journey so far, I’ve come to realize that buying ethically is just as much about how and when I choose to spend my money as it is about where I choose to spend it. I’m in my mid-twenties now working part time and trying to get my vintage business fully up and running. My husband is a grad student. We don’t have a lot of wiggle room in our budget, so it’s really important to learn to invest wisely now so we won’t be broke in the future.

Having just paid small business taxes, our budget is squeezed almost past capacity, so we’ve been trying to find as many ways as possible to stop the money leaks. We’ve cut back on drinks, Chinese takeout, and dinner dates; in time, we’ll begin to see how much we’re saving.

On her blog this week, Drea wrote a really thorough post on saving money in ways that are fulfilling rather than stifling. It takes determination and self control, but it doesn’t have to signal an end to fun or spontaneity. Living within your means, especially when you’re middle class or below, takes some creativity, but that’s part of the fun of it.

follow photo

butbl butets butfb butp

About Leah

I have a vintage clothing company called Platinum & Rust (.com). I'm also passionate about fair trade and sustainability issues; I work at a fair trade, organic coffee shop and blog about sustainable fashion at StyleWiseGuide.com.
This entry was posted in Essays and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

