sharing life

IMG_4121

Style Wise is an offshoot of my personal blog, Leah Wise: a journal. I wanted a place to develop a community of sustainability and ethics minded individuals working through our consumerism together. And, while I think it’s worked to some extent, I got so caught up in keeping this space cohesive that it developed into something that’s not quite intimate enough to generate lasting impressions.

My small business mentors told me in our last meeting that I am an important part of my brand and that I need to let people know not just where I stand but who I am. So I’m thinking about sharing more of my life here. You know, just day to day things, like what I do in my spare time, what events I attend, what’s making me excited or melancholy or reflective. My desire to buy fair trade stems from a much larger story about how I see and interact with the world, so it makes sense let you in.

I’ll start now. I spent a half hour walking around the neighborhood taking pictures of flowering trees this afternoon. At one house with a perfect front yard and low-hanging blooms, I spotted a bright blue jay at the feeder. I stood quietly and watched it for awhile until it flew away. I’m spending the rest of the day indoors with the door open doing inventory for Platinum & Rust (oh, joy) while Daniel sits at his chair and grades papers. It’s shaping up to be a simple, happy day.

follow photo

butbl butets butfb butp

About Leah

I have a vintage clothing company called Platinum & Rust (.com). I'm also passionate about fair trade and sustainability issues; I work at a fair trade, organic coffee shop and blog about sustainable fashion at StyleWiseGuide.com.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to sharing life

  1. Sonya Mann says:

    I’m glad you’re going to add some more personal components to the blog 🙂 I love taking pictures of flowers and plants; I’d like to go on a similar meander through my own neighborhood…

Leave a Reply

