clarks + soul of africa

soulofafricashoes
soulofafricashoes by fracturedradiance on Polyvore

I stopped into Clarks on my walk through the forsaken corridors of our local indoor mall, thinking maybe I’d invest in a pair of their classic little elf shoes. The price tag caught me off guard (and they were out of my size), but I noticed a flyer for Soul of Africa on the display that piqued my interest.

It turns out that Clarks has an ongoing relationship with fair trade company, Soul of Africa, which employs people in need, particularly women, thereby offering living wages and greater stability. Additionally, all proceeds are given to charities and organizations that enrich and support African orphans.

As far as I can tell, only styles labeled Soul of Africa directly support the organization. My store only offered a leather mule from the line, but there are more styles available online. You can also peruse independent Soul of Africa designs, but you’ll have to locate a stockist when you’re ready to make a purchase.

follow photo

butbl butets butfb butp

About Leah

I have a vintage clothing company called Platinum & Rust (.com). I'm also passionate about fair trade and sustainability issues; I work at a fair trade, organic coffee shop and blog about sustainable fashion at StyleWiseGuide.com.
This entry was posted in Brands and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to clarks + soul of africa

  1. Catherine says:

    Yay, this is great news! I wear a size 10 and it’s incredibly hard to find ethically made shoes to fit my feet. Sometimes you can find pairs made in Europe, but they are usually very expensive. I tried Toms in desperation, and they were too narrow for me.

    • Leah says:

      I’ve yet to purchase a really substantial pair of fair trade shoes because the cost is so high. I have Sseko sandals, but otherwise I try to go the secondhand route.

      • Catherine says:

        If you ever come across any black oxfords in a size 10 in your thrifting, I would love to see!

Leave a Reply

