the moral wardrobe: low back

b2 b6b3

Outfit Details: Top – thrifted via the Schoolhouse Thrift Shop; Skirt – Old Navy (old); Shoes – thrifted

I’m emotionally exhausted over the disappearance of local student, Hannah Graham, and spent the week being snippy with people I love. I’m feeling a bit down, but am encouraged by the way the Charlottesville community has stepped up to comfort one another and aid in the search.

This week is birthday week and I’m determined to count my blessings. I have lovely plans for Friday and am going on a hike in Shenandoah National Park on Saturday, so there’s a lot to look forward to. I’m also excited to work on some new pieces on my banjo; I’m painfully inexperienced, but I think my guitar basics will transfer well enough for now.

follow photo

butbl butets butfb butp

About Leah

I have a vintage clothing company called Platinum & Rust (.com). I'm also passionate about fair trade and sustainability issues; I work at a fair trade, organic coffee shop and blog about sustainable fashion at StyleWiseGuide.com.
This entry was posted in personal style and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to the moral wardrobe: low back

  1. Catherine says:

    I’ve been following the case and it’s very sad. When I was 12, a little girl my age disappeared from my hometown, and the story really affected me, too. I hope you are able to enjoy your week and focus on things you love. Hugs.

  2. It’s always horrifying when a something terrible happens so close to home. This quote by Mr. Rogers is something that I always try to reflect on: “When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news, my mother would say to me, ‘Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping.’ To this day, especially in times of ‘disaster,’ I remember my mother’s words and I am always comforted by realizing that there are still so many helpers – so many caring people in this world”

    • Leah says:

      Thanks for that quote. I was thinking about how united and close knit the community feels in the aftermath of the disappearance; it doesn’t make things right, but it makes it better.

  3. I’ve been thinking about getting a banjo! How long have you had yours?

    • Leah says:

      I’ve had it for a couple years, but am still a beginner. Now that I’m rehearsing music with some friends, I’m more motivated to work at it! It’s fun.

Leave a Reply

